Sunday 16 June 2013

What is Bad and Good CTR in AdSense

CTR stands for click through rate. CTR can be defined as the percentage ratio of Total number of clicks on ads to the Total number of ads impressions.

Formula: 

{(Total No. of Clicks)/ (Total No. of Impressions)} X 100


Adsense CTR

Example: If ads on website get loaded 1500 times and the number of clicks on ads are 52. Then CTR for that website would be 52/1500*100 = 3.47. It means that approximately 3.5 times your ads get clicked after each 100 ads impressions.

What is Good CTR

Yet officially by Google AdSense none of such statistics are unfolded. And unveil of real statistics by publisher is against AdSense TOS. So, kindly do not try to link such expectations from me. But, I will definitely share approximate numbers under light of my experience in order to increase your knowledge and help to set targets and finally to maximize revenue.

I usually get optimum results means more cpc, etc. on 2-3% ctr. So, I can say it is best ctr at-least for me.

What is Bad CTR

Yes, bad ctr can also be harmful not only for income but also for AdSense account. Low click through rate for example less than 0.5 is useless because, it can't give a good output until publisher gets a extra ordinary big cpc. Well too high CTR (8%+) has its own disadvantages; it results in low CPC,  it reflects bad user experience and in many Google can disable user account or will deduct 5-35% earning from estimated earning during finalizing under any reason like invalid or suspicious activity.

1 comment:

  1. Hello Syed,
    I am impressed by most of your articles.But,I am interested to suggest a small thing that is
    CTR(Revenue per 1000 impressions).But,in the above formula it has mentioned as 100 impressions.

    Rgds,
    jobsbullet team
    http://jobsbullet.com/

    ReplyDelete